The Big 40: Any Ideas?

In about a month and a half I will turn 40.  No big deal I tell myself.  It is just another year.  However, my other half has plans.  He thinks people will think it a terrible thing if he does not get me to do something memorable.   Personally, I’m not worried about doing anything more than going out for a meal or watching a movie.  However, I’m not going to be able to sneak past the 40 mark without doing something more elaborate as he is nagging me almost every day now.  No pressure!

It needs to be a simple day trip excursion but that still leaves quite a few options available to me. They include:

tandem sky diving

tandem paragliding

tandem hang gliding

helicopter ride

sailing

joy flight (with the option to do tricks)

These ideas are okay…but keep in mind, I get headaches just on the ground with a change in air pressure.  Bumping around in a Dash 8 has been known on more than one occasion to make me come very, very, very close to tossing my cookies.  I hate retching at the best of times but doing it on a plane in front of other people is really not fun.  I left the plane unable to leave the barf bag behind because I continued to feel so sick I was afraid even on the ground (and headed for a much bigger plane) that I might very well need it in between flights!  Not how I like to begin my long haul flights.  Needless to say I’m not big on small planes!  The though of a boat making the same motion really isn’t endearing me to that idea either.

Saying all of this I like the idea of being in the air or on the water, I just do not want the sick part, especially on my birthday.

I have already done a:

balloon flight

taxi ride in a Lancaster bomber

under ground gold mine tour

whale watching (I took medication before getting on the boat and still felt slightly nauseous)

been to a number of other countries

etc etc etc

I’d be happy for some of your helpful suggestions…

7 comments on “The Big 40: Any Ideas?

  1. dell381 says:

    WELL I NOTICED WASNT ON YOUR LIST.. BUT ITS A COUPLE OF SUGGESTIONS.. PARASAILING.. OR EVEN THE SLING SHOT RIDE. WHAT EVER YOU CHOOSE I HOPE YOU HAVE FUN.

  2. dell381 says:

    MY ELDEST SON WENT PARASAILING SAID IT WAS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME .. SAID NEVER HAD MORE FUN THAN THAT… HAHAHAHA..

  3. Maggie L R says:

    Memorable does not have to be wild and crazy like bungee jumping, it can be simple and free.. maybe take a weekend retreat somewhere by yourself. A time to be pampered, to walk alone on the beach, to read. That is how I spent one of my memorable birthdays…. I time to really discover myself. a time to journal and think.

  4. Lynne Ayers says:

    Yes, a day at the spa is more to my liking. Although sky diving still hovers around my bucket list somewhere … actually I don’t think it is even listed as that puts it in print and in print it carries more weight, and more weight means more commitment …

Leave a Reply

