ANZAC Day

Through my research for the story of the boys of Lancaster Mk II LL637 EQ-P, I have come across information on many crashes.  Two of these Lancaster crashes included an Australian and a New Zealander.  While in France I had the opportunity to visit the graves at Mussig and pay my respects to the crew of Lancaster Mk I ME558 SR-Q, including the Australian C.G. Arthur.  I did not make it to Choloy War Cemetery to visit the grave of J.F. Craig.  Although I have no photos of the men, I am posting their details today as a form of respect and remembrance on ANZAC Day.

F/S Cecil Glen Arthur 429902 (RAAF) Age 20

  • Lancaster Mk I, ME558, SR-Q of 101 Squadron
  • Flying on ABC duties
  • Crashed near Mussig
  • Buried in a collective grave at Mussig Cemetery, France

F/L James Fraser Craig DFC 402168 (RNZAF) Age 31 

  • on his second tour
  • Lancaster Mk I, LL852, BQ-X of 550 Squadron
  • Crashed near Appenwihr
  • Buried in a Collective Grave 4. A. 12-16 at Choloy War Cemetery, France

One comment on “ANZAC Day

  1. Gary Stratton says:

    I am a great nephew of Jame Frazer Craig (pilot of Lancaster 852) and my wife has recently written a book on his life including details of his last fateful flight. I am happy to send details and photos if anyone interested.He was from NZ as I am. Email glstratt@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

