Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

5 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

  1. dell381 says:

    HEY LJ. JUST CURIOUS WHAT DID U USE TO GET THE SECOND PIC? PRETTY WOWSOME PICS .. THANKS FOR SHARING.. DELL XXX

    • ljr3 says:

      I put my camera on a tripod, set it to 15 second exposure, used ISO 200 and f-stop of 2.7 (although this can be changed). I then set the camera on 10 second timer to give me time to get in place and once the timer went off I moved through the camera’s focal area drawing the design of light using a back bike light. I counted the time as I went to make sure I used up the space. I even made a happy face in one pic using the same light but on flashing instead of steady light.

  2. dell381 says:

    wowwwwwwwwwwww.. thats awesome… love it..

  3. Beautiful post! The lights were just amazing! I’m jumping like the adorable dog from excitement.

    • ljr3 says:

      Thanks! You can do all sorts of fun stuff with light and a slow shutter speed. If your camera has a manual setting it is well worth the effort to give it a go. The joy of digital; if it doesn’t work out just delete and try again! I was thinking of doing a short post on how f/stop, ISO etc work so anyone could feel confident doing this. These were some of my first goes at using my manual setting after reading up on f/stop etc to get a better idea at how to get the effect I wanted.

Leave a Reply

