A Painting: Stage One

Have patience…this painting could take some time to go from nothing to something.  I normally do not let anyone see what I am painting so this will be a new experience.

I have not painted in ages (at least two years).  I bought a large canvas some time ago but up until today I was not sure what exactly I was going to do with it.  I have finally decided to take the plunge and prep the canvas for drawing my initial ideas out.

I do this by putting burnt sienna Liquitex acrylic paint on a wet rag and wiping it across the canvas.  One, it gets me beyond the white canvas syndrome.  Two, it allows me to use charcoal to draw onto the canvas instead of pencil.  This means I don’t get pencil bleeding through (I have no idea why that happens but thus why I use charcoal).  Charcoal can also be easily wiped off the painted canvas with a rag so it allows me to redraw areas if I make a mistake.  Three, when I paint over the charcoal drawing it melds into the paint.  I can keep the effect or paint it in entirely.

This painting will be a tribute to my second cousin Bud, a WWII tail gunner.  I am thinking of adding some things into the background of what will become a portrait pic.  I am still not sure what will be included,  perhaps a Nissen hut or part of a turret or something.  If you have any ideas feel free to comment!

Leave a Reply

