A Painting: Stage Two (Frustration)

After looking at various pictures I have of my relative I started sketching him on to the canvas using the general rule of thirds.

The top left pic is when he enlisted and the bottom left and top right are when he became a sergeant.

This composite is still not what I want…  I’m frustrated with it so far.  I’m struggling to get it to look like him between the three pics but it has a feeling I wanted to capture, that sense of pride and him being very young.  He was only nineteen when he died.

Still lots to do…  I’ll keep working on pushing the charcoal around to help give it more of his character.

2 comments on “A Painting: Stage Two (Frustration)

  1. dell381 says:

    HEY LJ. WELL I LOVE ART. I AINT NO SCHOLAR WHEN IT COMES TO IT .. BUT I DO KNOW WHAT I LIKE. WHAT I FEEL LOOKS GOOD.. AND SOMETIMES OVR DOING IT CAN MESS IT UP ALL TOGETHER… ITS LIKE OVR KILL YOU KNOW.. I SENSE YOUR FRUSTRATION.. BUT I FEEL YOU HAVE TOTALLY CAPTURED THE LIKENESS HERE.. ITS REALLY REALLY GOOD… YOU HAVE DONE A TERRIFIC JOB SKETCHING THIS..PORTRAITS ARE HARD TO DO .. AND TO CAPTURE AN EXACT LIKENESS IS DIFFICULT IM SURE… BUT THE OVR ALL THEME HERE YOU HAVE CAPTURED THE LIKENESS ……AND I ASSURE YOU PRIDE OF THIS YOUNG MAN HAS ALSO BEEN CAPTURED AS WELL… TERRIFIC JOB ON HIS CLOTHES .. YOU REALLY DID A AWESOME SKETCH HERE.. IF I WERE YOU I’D LEAVE IT ALONE.. ITS PERFECT I FEEL THE WAY IT IS.. HUGGGSSSSSSSS… DELL XXX

    • ljr3 says:

      Well, I hope you like the refinements! It has come a long way since my last post. There is still lots to do in terms of his clothing or the background but the face is much better now. I’m pleased with it and feel it is a good composite of all the pics I have. Doing this for all to see is a bit scary but it forces me to work harder I think as I have an audience watching.

Leave a Reply

