Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

This one is coming in at the last minute but it only hit me last night that I could use this as a “near and far” example.

I have to go to a fancy dress thing in about a months time.  However, I do not want to go to the expense of buying a costume that I would probably only use once because it would be so specific I would not be able to adapt it for further use.  To top it off they often tend to be poorly made.

Instead, I am looking at many pictures and checking out various “how to” sites to come up with my own pattern.  To be honest I think I am learning more by doing it this way than I would if I just paid for a pattern.  This way it fits the way I want too.  I don’t have to conform to the ready made costumes or the sized patterns.

Anyhow, I have only got the shirt done (I might add to it later).  I still have the corset style top and the skirt to make.  I have some of the pattern pieces sorted but I still have loads to do.  I’m so near and yet so far.  I hope I get it done in time for the night!

7 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

  1. Hi! 🙂
    I have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award”. Congratulations!
    See: http://arlenshah.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/two-awards-in-one-day/

    Arlen Shahverdyan

  2. dell381 says:

    hey sis cant wait to see the rest of it… huggs.. looking great so far…

    • ljr3 says:

      I went to try the skirt on before sewing up the elastic and the safety pin came undone and slid back in the casing. What a trial trying to get it back out! Anyway, there is just the last bit of sewing left on the skirt and then it is just the top that goes over the blouse. That will be the hardest part.

Leave a Reply

