Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

This isn’t exactly a photo of “happy” in the normal sense, but I am really happy to have finished my sewing project for the Oktoberfest fancy dress night.

A while ago I showed you the blouse. I thought it only fair to show you the rest now that I have finished.

After looking at a number of pics on the internet and finding a bit of info on sewing, I managed to get enough courage to cut the fabric and try making it into something… I know, there are some not so great bits around the arm holes and I didn’t use interfacing or whatever on the neck etc., but I don’t know how to use it! I’m still learning!

I had no formal pattern to go by, not that I have ever used a pattern or know how to read one anyway! Instead, I measured myself and added a fudge factor and made my own pattern. This is the result and I’m happy!

I promise to do even better next time.

6 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

  1. Great job. I too am happiest when I make something from scratch. Personal creations gives us a certain satisfaction and joy no money can buy.

    • ljr3 says:

      Exactly! It is so satisfying. I really enjoyed making it and it cost less than buying a costume. In the process I also learned some things about sewing.

  2. dell381 says:

    wow this is fantastic!!! awesome job lj.. huggs.. you couldnt go out and buy it made as well…

    • ljr3 says:

      The costume ones are usually a one time thing and can be expensive despite the poor quality. I paid less to make this than I would have to buy it, so I’m happy. Besides, I can wear the blouse/skirt after if I want, unlike the costume ones. I’ll keep the apron and decorative top in case I ever need it for another fancy dress night.

  3. belocchio says:

    Your costume is delightful. And what fun to create something yourself. I learned to sew on a treadle sewing machine. Then quickly graduated to a Singer with all the bells and whistles. I love sewing and make everything from my daughter-in laws couturier silk wedding dress to my husbands casual dress jackets and dress pants. It is great outlet for the creative soul. Virginia

    • ljr3 says:

      Thank you. I would love to have the skills to make some really nice things. I’ll keep working on it. Sewing the costume really was great fun.

Leave a Reply

