Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details

I love my old chairs specifically because they have such beautiful details.

7 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details

  1. laura says:

    Those are nice chairs! where did you get them? I have two wooden chairs with lovely details that were given to me, I’m always on the look out for more!

    • ljr3 says:

      I got them in Bungendore, NSW, Australia. I also found the same, but smaller set in Canberra, ACT. My set has six chairs (two with arms and four without) and a table that is about 7′ long. I should have taken photos of the table as well. It also has interesting features.

    • ljr3 says:

      By the way, both shops where I found these chairs were antique stores.

      • laura says:

        Hard to find very good things in op shops but love the hunt!

      • ljr3 says:

        In the case of the smaller set, I would have called the place an op shop, not an antique store, despite it calling itself an antique store. It is great when you find something like that. New furniture just doesn’t have that charm.

  2. Beautiful! The wood looks like it has a soft touch.

    • ljr3 says:

      I think to some extent the curving of the wood hightens that soft look. It is a little delicate, likely due to its age, exposure to heat and high humidity etc. These old chairs, although old and not to everyones’ taste, seem to have a character that I just couldn’t find in new furniture.

Leave a Reply

